Posted by: Jen | September 30, 2010

Mini-Pies

We have a friend who really enjoys blue-berry anything. The last time we saw him, he not-so-subtley hinted that he might would like some kind of blue-berry baked good. Not really feeling like making a whole pie and having seen Giada do this, I thought mini-pies would be the way to go. Here are some pictures of the different steps.

1. Make your pie filling. I used one that is fruit, tapioca and sugar. Makes a lovely filling. Here is my favorite 1-cup scoop stained with blueberry juice. I liked the color contrast. I know. I’m a dork.

2. Roll out the pre-made pie crust and cut into twelve, three inch rounds. Place these into muffin tins. The parchment paper strips are to make them easier to get out. It actually really was helpful, but a little more time consuming than I would have liked to cut them all. I’m not good at cutting. Scissors were never my strong point.

3. Fill the pie cups.

4. Cut out twelve, two-inch rounds for tops. I think (after doing this) it would be better to make the tops three inches too. The two inch ones were just a little too small. It made trying to pinch them closed somewhat difficult.

5. If you want to do something to make them look pretty, cut out small stars (or other fun shapes…I would have done a leaf if I had one) and put them on top. Also, at this point I tried to fork press the edges. It was tough and in the end it didn’t work and there was a blueberry goo situation in the muffin pan. C’est la vie.

6. Brush on a little egg wash and sprinkle with sugar. Consider doing this before they’ve been in the oven for ten minutes. It will go a lot better for you. Not that I know from experience or anything…

7. Bake for 15-20 minutes.

8. Take out, put on a cute plate, and photograph! I mean…eat!


Responses

  1. Now those are toooo cute. that would make a great treat to take to a bible study or ladies event or even to share with friends over tea or coffee. You’ve inspired me now that it’s feeling like fall I may have to give this one a try!

  2. So cute ill have to try that. They look yummy.

  3. Those are amazing and adorable! Also, I found out the hard way, parchment paper and wax paper are not the same thing and are not interchangeable. Lol

  4. Thanks for sharing this. I think I’ll try my hand at baking again (i’m a disaster with baking… care to give me lessons one day?) sometime soon.


Leave a comment

Categories